Annual Sports Day – 2016

Annual Sports Day – 2016

“The moment of victory is much too short to live for that and nothing else,” said Martina Navratilova, a tennis player. Apart from commemorating victories, sports meets also aim at imparting lessons on sportsman spirit and camaraderie to children. Upholding this aspect of sporting event, Annual Athletic Meet 2016 – 17 was organized for the students of the classes IV – XII at Mangala Stadium on Friday, October 28, 2016. Chief Guest, Mrs. Lilly Pais, Taluk Physical Education Officer, Mangaluru South graced the event.

The inauguration commenced at 8:25 am with the March Past led by the School Head girl, Ms. Roshna Narayan along with the four respective House Captains and their team members. The students marched proudly with military precision and perfect synchronization in their house colours to the tune of the School Band.

This was followed with an invocation song in praise of the Lord for seeking his guidance and thanking him for blessing us this new day. A team of students greeted all with the traditional Indian welcome dance forms basically – Bharatanatyam, Mohini Attam and Kathak. The Principal, Sr. Melissa A.C. then welcomed the gathering and introduced the Chief Guest, Mrs. Pais.

The crowd witnessed the arrival of the torch carried by our national level athletes and handed over to Mrs. Pais. They then lit the Flame. The Sports Secretary Master Ashton Suares led the oath taking ceremony, all the students pledging to inculcate the spirit of sportsmanship within them. Mrs. Lilly Pais declared the Annual Athletic Meet 2016-17 open by releasing the doves, to a thunderous applause from all. She later addressed the gathering and stressed on team-spirit along with the need of being the good citizens of India and representing our country with pride and dignity.

The winners of various team games were awarded with medals by the Chief Guest, Joint Secretary, Sr. Maria Jyothi A.C., PTA Vice President, Mr. Ananthesh Prabhu and Principal Sr. Melissa A.C.. The formal inaugural function came to an end with Mrs. Jyotsna giving the vote of thanks.

The athletes competed with each other in various events such as 100m, 200m, and 400m races. The students enthusiastically also took part in shot-put, long jump and high jump.  The students had much to cheer for during the Inter-House Grand Relay among the four houses.  The students cried themselves hoarse in support of their respective houses.

The valedictory function began at 2:45 pm. Mr. Ragunath, Taluk Physical Education Officer, Mangaluru North was the Chief Guest. The school flag was lowered by him with dignity and reverence as a sign of closing the current year’s Sports Meet. The Principal officially closed the Sports Meet of the year 2016 after receiving the school flag, to carry on the meet for the coming year 2017. The flame was put off.

Individual Champions – Boys
Sub – Junior category (Class IV – V) – Abhijit R Shetty of Class V A
Junior category (Class VI – VII) – Hashir Sheikh Suleman of Class VII C
Intermediate Category (Class VIII – IX) – Shaun Ferrao of class IX B
Senior Category (Class X – XII) – Amaan H.A of Class X B

Individual Champions – Girls
Sub – Junior category (Class IV – V) – Sweedle D’Souza of Class V A
Junior category (Class VI – VII) – Rochelle Pias of Class VI B
Intermediate Category (Class VIII – IX) – Hima G Shetty and Hita G Shetty of class IX A
Senior Category (Class X – XII) – Amanda Frank of Class X B

March Past Winners
VI – XBluebells won the first place and Tulips won the second place.
In the Senior-Secondary section class XII won the first place and class XI got the second place.

Grand Relay – VIII – IX
Boys – Bluebells won the first place and runners-up position was taken by the Orchids
Girls – Bluebells won the first place and runners-up position was taken by the Anthuriams

Grand Relay – X – XII
BoysThe first place bagged by class XII and Tulips bagged the runner-up position.
Girls – The first place bagged by class XII and Bluebells bagged the runner-up position.

The Overall Championship was clinched by the Bluebells House members